Driscoll and Fisher Named Kutztown’s 2018 Coaches of the Year

6/27/2018 | Men’s Basketball
KUTZTOWN – Kutztown University men’s basketball coach Bernie Driscoll and women’s golf coach Robert Fisher have been named the 2018 KU Men’s Dr. Dennis Roth, and Women’s Dr. Dorothy Moyer Coaches of the Year.

This is Driscoll’s record sixth Coach of the Year honor in his 18 seasons at the helm of the Golden Bears. It’s his second in three years as his six awards stand as the most in KU history on the men’s side. Softball’s Judy Lawes holds the most overall with nine KU Coach of the Year accolades.

Driscoll steered the men’s basketball program to its 15th Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference Tournament appearance in the last 16 seasons, notching his 300th career victory during the 2017-18 campaign. The Golden Bears reached the 20-win mark for the third consecutive season, finishing with a 21-7 record and winning their opening round playoff game at home over Bloomsburg.

Three members of the Maroon and Gold earned postseason awards: two All-PSAC selections and the PSAC East Freshman of the Year. The all-time winningest men’s basketball coach in school history, Driscoll has a 307-204 career record and has had a winning record in 14 of his 18 seasons on the bench.

This is Fisher’s third KU Coach of the Year honor, but first for the women’s golf program (two for wrestling).

Fisher, the PSAC Coach of the Year for the first time in women’s golf, led the program to an historic

season in 2017, winning its first PSAC Championship in program history. The Golden Bears broke the school’s par-71 record by four strokes during the two-day competition in Hershey, shooting a collective 638.

Individually, KU had four golfers finish inside the top-15, led by Shannon Weber’s second-place finish. Kutztown finished ninth at the NCAA East Super Regional, the program’s first NCAA Championship appearance in school history, and had all five of its starters complete the season ranked in the top-11 all-time for single-season scoring average.

KU had two All-PSAC selections, as Weber set a new school record with a season-average of 78.7, becoming the first-ever Golden Bear to post a sub-80 average.

Members of the KU athletic department staff voted upon the nominees to determine KU’s year-end awards. The awards will be formally presented at halftime of the Sept. 8 football game vs. California (PA) at 12:05 p.m.

Previous KU Coach of the Year Winners

Year Winners
1987 Al Zellner, Women’s Soccer
1988 Rick Binder, Men’s Basketball
1989 Betty Wesner, Field Hockey
1990 Judy Lawes, Softball
1991 Tom York, Women’s Basketball
1992 Barry Fetterman, Football
1993 (W) Patty Weldon, Cross Country, (M) Dan Hinkel, Wrestling
1994 (W) Judy Lawes, Softball, (M) Brian Mondschein, Track & Field
1995 (W) Judy Lawes, Softball, (M) Brian Mondschein, Track & Field
1996 (W) Ken Ralph, Swimming, (M) Dan Hinkel, Wrestling
1997 (W) Brian Mondschein, Track & Field, (M) Matt Royer, Baseball
1998 (W) Betty Wesner, Field Hockey, (M) Brian Mondschein, Track & Field
1999 (W) John Gump, Volleyball, (M) Matt Royer, Baseball
2000 (W) Judy Lawes, Softball, (M) Brian Mondschein, Track & Field
2001 (W) Ray Hoffman, Cross Country, (M) Matt Royer, Baseball
2002 (W) Ray Hoffman, Cross Country, (M) Matt Royer, Baseball
2003 (W) John Gump, Volleyball, (M) Bernie Driscoll, Basketball
2004 (W) Jeff Schellenberger, Soccer, (M) Bernie Driscoll, Basketball
2005 (W) Jeff Schellenberger, Soccer, (M) Suresh Ramamurthi, Tennis
2006 (W) Brian Mondschein, Track & Field, (M) Chris Blum, Baseball
2007 (W) Judy Lawes, Softball, (M) Chris Blum, Baseball
2008 (W) Judy Lawes, Softball, (M) Bernie Driscoll, Basketball
2009 (W) Judy Lawes, Softball, (M) Bernie Driscoll, Basketball
2010 (W) Tim Flannery, Swimming, (M) Chris Blum, Baseball
2011 (W) Joseph Ambrose, Bowling, (M) Raymond Monica, Football
2012 (W) Judy Lawes, Softball, (M) Raymond Monica, Football
2013 (W) Judy Lawes, Softball, (M) Suresh Ramamurthi, Tennis
2014 (W) Erik Burstein, Soccer, (M) Robert Fisher, Wrestling
2015 (W) Erik Burstein, Soccer, (M) Robert Fisher, Wrestling
2016 (W) Marci Scheuing, Field Hockey, (M) Bernie Driscoll, Basketball
2017 (W) Erik Burstein, Soccer, (M) Jim Clements, Football
2018 (W) Robert Fisher, Golf, (M) Bernie Driscoll, Basketball

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *