Amanda Rizzuti, ESU Women’s Club Rugby Selected to Compete at 2018 Collegiate Rugby Championship

Amanda Rizzuti, ESU Women’s Club Rugby Selected to Compete at 2018 Collegiate Rugby Championship

EAST STROUDSBURG – East Stroudsburg University’s women’s rugby sevens squad is set to join 15 club teams from across the country at the 2018 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship in Philadelphia this June. Amanda Rizzuti of Fleetwood, PA is a member of the team.

The three-day competition will take place from Friday, June 1 through Sunday, June 3 at Talon Energy Stadium. It is one of the largest annual gatherings of high-level collegiate and high school teams, and over 30,000 fans are expected for this year’s tournaments.

The Warrior women will be competing in Pool D with Notre Dame, Temple, and the National Small College Rugby Organization Select squad. Pool play begins at 10:20 a.m. on Friday morning at the Academy Fields adjacent to the main stadium. Knockout rounds start at 8 a.m. on Saturday, with consolation and championship games scheduled for Sunday.

Selected games from the tournament will be broadcast on ESPN2 throughout the weekend, and all games played at Talon Energy Stadium on Saturday and Sunday will be available on ESPN+, the company’s new digital subscription streaming service.

Over the past eight years, the Collegiate Rugby Championship has produced over 30 players who have gone on to play for the U.S. National teams. Rugby sevens made its Summer Olympics debut at the 2016 games in Rio de Janeiro.

To purchase tickets to the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship visit .

The full 2018 ESU women’s rugby team is listed below, ordered by their placement in the picture.

Top Row (L to R)

  • Chris George (Coach)
  • Heather Estle (Wilmington, Del.)
  • Amanda Rizzuti (Fleetwood)
  • Jackie Dvorak (South Plainfield, N.J.)
  • Gina Reed (Croydon)
  • Gina Gatto (Morgantown)
  • Angela Grissinger (Moscow)
  • Heather Bally
  • Rachel Halverson (Schwenksville)
  • Amie Baboucarr (Wilkes-Barre)

Middle Row

  • Sam Ruppert (Hulmeville)
  • Alicia Kakakios (East Stroudsburg)
  • Josilin Poole (Abington)
  • Brenna Perry (Easton)
  • Desiree Mancill (Lebanon)
  • Angela Horner (New Egypt, N.J.)

Bottom Row

  • Lindsey Goodenough (Dryden, N.Y.)
  • Nicolette Maloney (Toms River, N.J.)

Not Pictured

  • Melissa Callahan (Aldan)
  • Tannis Gallagher (North Wales)

Executive Board

  • Nicolette Maloney (President)
  • Gina Reed (Vice President)
  • Alicia Kakakios (Treasurer)
  • Amanda Rizzuti (Secretary)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *