Ariel Tucci Sigma Xi hosts 43rd annual Science Honors Banquet

Ariel Tucci Sigma Xi hosts 43rd annual Science Honors Banquet

EAST STROUDSBURG – The East Stroudsburg University Chapter of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society, hosted its 43nd annual science honors banquet April 27 at the Stroudsmoor Country Inn in Stroudsburg. At the banquet, Sigma Xi honored students from seven departments within the College of Arts and Sciences including Ariel Tucci from Douglassville.

Erin Gloor, a senior majoring in biochemistry from Ringwood, N.J., Ariel Tucci, a senior majoring in psychology from Douglassville; Anthony Savercool, a senior majoring in psychology from Easton; Sara Klopfenstein, a senior majoring in biochemistry from Bartonsville; Christopher Galanti, a junior majoring in psychology from Lafayette Hill; Julia Guardo, a senior majoring in chemical biotechnology from Stroudsburg; Leah Bergman, a senior majoring in marine science from Coatsville; Joseph DiCandia, a senior majoring in biochemistry from Kunkletown; and Jessica Burns, a senior majoring in biology from East Stroudsburg. received Sigma Xi associate membership. The recipients of the faculty memorial awards were Elizabeth Barcellona, a graduate student studying biology from East Stroudsburg; and Danielle Swingle, a senior majoring in biochemistry from Lake Ariel.

The department of biological sciences presented awards to Leah Bergman ’20, Coatsville..; Emily Walsh ’18, Stroudsburg; Kristina Roy ’18, Canadensis; Nicole Yap ’22, East Stroudsburg; Aubrey Miller ’18, Allentown; Ciera Bobbitt ’18, Kunkletown; Jessica Burns ’18, East Stroudsburg; Catherine Reis ’18, East Bangor; and Kelly Murman a graduate student from Avoca. The department of history and geography presented an award to Alec Lederer, a graduate student from Walnutport. The department of chemistry presented awards to Danielle Swingle ’18, Lake Ariel; Samantha Hartman ’18, Mount Bethel; Julia Guardo ’18, Stroudsburg; Sara Klopfenstein ’18, Bartonsville; Joseph DiCandia ’18, Kunkletown..; Jonathan Schillinger ’20, Effort; Conrad Richman ’21, Greentown; Samantha Miller ’18, Springfield; and Alicia Day ’18, Bangor. The department of computer science presented awards to Michael Burns ’18, Nazareth; and Zachary Waldman ’20, Mechanicsburg. The department of mathematics presented awards to Sarah Kendl ’21, Milford; Kyle Benson’18, Easton; and Jamie Reese ’17, Fleetville. The department of physics presented awards to Zachary Rinchiuso’18, Stroudsburg; Austin Cavanaugh ’21, Ambler; Pumee Rojchanaborworn’21, East Stroudsburg; Karl Bohnenberger ’20, East Stroudsburg; and James McMahon ’18, Montoursville. The department of psychology presented awards to Zoe Maas ’20, Coatsville; and Alexa Strelecki’18, Scranton.

Additionally, two outstanding teacher awards were presented to Robert Hachtman from Bangor Area High School, Bangor; and Michael Mady from Dingman Delaware Elementary School, Dingmans Ferry.

For more information about Sigma Xi, contact Alan Shaffer, Ph.D., associate professor of chemistry, in the college of arts and sciences, at 570-422-3796 or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *