Seven Wilson High School students receive National Merit recognition

The Wilson School District is pleased to announce that seven high school seniors have received National Merit recognition. Abigal Durning, Sarah Larkin, Marlayna McArdle and Quinn Spraut were named Commended Students. Marc Chmielewski, Jasper Den Otter and Andrew Allen were named National Merit Semifinalists.

The commended students represent more than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT. These students receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

Semifinalists represent about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers and are the highest scoring entrants in each state. To be considered for a National Merit ®  Scholarship, Semifinalists must advance to Finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and all other
necessary requirements.

In February, approximately 15,000 Semifinalists will be notified if they have advanced to Finalist standing. All winners of Merit Scholarship ®  awards (Merit Scholar designees) are chosen from the Finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *